

South Carolina House of Representatives Legislative Oversight Committee

Chair Jeffrey E. "Jeff" Johnson

First Vice-Chair Chris Wooten

William H. Bailey Gary S. Brewer, Jr. April Cromer Kambrell H. Garvin Leon Douglas "Doug" Gilliam Thomas Duval "Val" Guest, Jr. William M. "Bill" Hixon Joseph H. "Joe" Jefferson, Jr. Wendell Keith Jones Roger K. Kirby Josiah Magnuson John R. McCravy, III

> Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Timothy A. "Tim" McGinnis Adam M. Morgan Travis A. Moore Russell L. Ott Marvin R. Pendarvis Marvin "Mark" Smith

Charles L. Appleby IV Legal Counsel

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator Lewis Carter Research Analyst/Auditor

> Riley E. McCullough Research Analyst

MEETING MINUTES

Wednesday, December 7, 2022 11:30 a.m. Blatt Room 110

Archived Video Available

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.7, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (http://www.scstatehouse.gov) and clicking on *Committee Postings and Reports*, then under *House Standing Committees* click on *Legislative Oversight*. Then, click on *Video Archives* for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

Attendance

 Pursuant to Committee Rule 3.1, the organizational meeting of the House Legislative Oversight Committee was called to order by Temporary Chair, Joseph H. "Joe" Jefferson, Jr., in Room 110 of the Blatt Building. All members of the Committee were present for all or a portion of the meeting, except: Representative Doug Gilliam and Representative Chris Wooten.

Election of Officers

 Representative John R. McCravy, III, nominated Representative Jeffrey E. "Jeff" Johnson to serve as Chair of the Committee and moved that the nominations be closed. By acclamation, Representative Johnson was elected Chair. It was noted the minutes would reflect an affirmative vote from all members present.

> Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811 Room 228 Blatt Building

Rep. John R. McCravy, Ill's motion to elect Jeffrey E. "Jeff" Johnson as Chairman	Yea	Nay	Not Voting
Rep. Bailey	\checkmark		
Rep. Brewer	\checkmark		
Rep. Cromer	\checkmark		
Rep. Garvin	\checkmark		
Rep. Gilliam			Not Present
Rep. Guest	✓		
Rep. Hixon	~		
Rep. Jefferson	✓		
Rep. Johnson	✓		
Rep. Jones	~		
Rep. Kirby	✓		
Rep. Magnuson	✓		
Rep. McCravy	✓		
Rep. McGinnis	✓		
Rep. Morgan	✓		
Rep. Moore	✓		
Rep. Ott	✓		
Rep. Pendarvis	✓		
Rep. Smith	✓		
Rep. Wooten			Not Present

- II. Chair Johnson made brief remarks, and he presided over the remainder of the meeting.
- III. Representative Russell L. Ott nominated Representative Chris Wooten to serve as First Vice-Chair and moved that the nominations be closed. He was duly elected as the Committee's First Vice-Chair.

Rep. Russell L. Ott's motion to elect Chris Wooten as First Vice-Chairman	Yea	Nay	Not Voting
Rep. Bailey	\checkmark		
Rep. Brewer	✓		
Rep. Cromer	✓		
Rep. Garvin	✓		
Rep. Gilliam			Not Present
Rep. Guest	✓		
Rep. Hixon	\checkmark		

Day Jefferrer		
Rep. Jefferson	✓	
Rep. Johnson	\checkmark	
Rep. Jones	✓	
Rep. Kirby	✓	
Rep. Magnuson	✓	
Rep. McCravy	✓	
Rep. McGinnis	✓	
Rep. Morgan	✓	
Rep. Moore	\checkmark	
Rep. Ott	\checkmark	
Rep. Pendarvis	\checkmark	
Rep. Smith	✓	
Rep. Wooten		Not Present

Administrative Matters

I. Representative Magnuson moved that the Committee adopt the vision and mission statements. A roll call vote was held, and the motion passed.

Rep. Magnuson's motion to elect adopt Vision and Mission Statements	Yea	Nay	Not Voting
Rep. Bailey	✓		
Rep. Brewer	✓		
Rep. Cromer	✓		
Rep. Garvin	✓		
Rep. Gilliam			Not Present
Rep. Guest	✓		
Rep. Hixon	✓		
Rep. Jefferson	✓		
Rep. Johnson	✓		
Rep. Jones	✓		
Rep. Kirby	✓		
Rep. Magnuson	✓		
Rep. McCravy			Not Present
Rep. McGinnis	✓		
Rep. Morgan	✓		
Rep. Moore	✓		
Rep. Ott	 ✓ 	2	

Rep. Pendarvis	\checkmark	
Rep. Smith	\checkmark	
Rep. Wooten		Not Present

II. Representative Hixon moved that the Committee adopt the Committee rules. A roll call vote was held, and the motion passed.

Rep. Hixon's motion to elect adopt Committee Rules	Yea	Nay	Not Voting
Rep. Bailey	✓		
Rep. Brewer	✓		
Rep. Cromer	✓		
Rep. Garvin	✓		
Rep. Gilliam			Not Present
Rep. Guest	✓		
Rep. Hixon	✓		
Rep. Jefferson	✓		
Rep. Johnson	✓		
Rep. Jones	✓		
Rep. Kirby	✓		
Rep. Magnuson	✓		
Rep. McCravy			Not Present
Rep. McGinnis	✓		
Rep. Morgan	✓		
Rep. Moore	✓		
Rep. Ott	✓		
Rep. Pendarvis	✓		
Rep. Smith	✓		
Rep. Wooten			Not Present

III. Representative McGinnis moved that the Committee begin studying the following agencies: Commission on Higher Education, Tuition Grants Commission, Department of Consumer Affairs, State Law Enforcement Division, and the Workers' Compensation Commission. A roll call vote was held, and the motion passed.

Rep. McGinnis' motion to begin studies on the Commission on Higher Education, Tuition Grants Commission, Department of Consumer Affairs, State Law Enforcement Division, and the Workers' Compensation Commission	Yea	Nay	Not Voting
Rep. Bailey	\checkmark		
Rep. Brewer	\checkmark		
Rep. Cromer	\checkmark		
Rep. Garvin	\checkmark		
Rep. Gilliam			Not Present
Rep. Guest	\checkmark		
Rep. Hixon	\checkmark		
Rep. Jefferson	\checkmark		
Rep. Johnson	\checkmark		
Rep. Jones	✓		
Rep. Kirby	✓		
Rep. Magnuson	✓		
Rep. McCravy			Not Present
Rep. McGinnis	\checkmark		
Rep. Morgan	\checkmark		
Rep. Moore	✓		
Rep. Ott	\checkmark		
Rep. Pendarvis	\checkmark		
Rep. Smith	\checkmark		
Rep. Wooten			Not Present

Minutes

- I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not have to be verbatim accounts of meetings.
- Representative Josiah Magnuson makes a motion to approve the meeting minutes from the October 4, 2022, meeting. A roll call vote was held, and the motion passed.

Rep. Magnuson's motion to approve the minutes from the October 4, 2022 meeting	Yea	Nay	Not Voting/Not Present
Rep. Bailey			Not Voting
Rep. Brewer	\checkmark		
Rep. Cromer			Not Voting
Rep. Garvin	\checkmark		
Rep. Gilliam			Not Present
Rep. Guest			Not Voting
Rep. Hixon	✓		
Rep. Jefferson	✓		
Rep. Johnson	\checkmark		
Rep. Jones			Not Voting
Rep. Kirby			Not Voting
Rep. Magnuson	✓		
Rep. McCravy			Not Present
Rep. McGinnis	\checkmark		
Rep. Morgan	\checkmark		
Rep. Moore	✓		
Rep. Ott	\checkmark		
Rep. Pendarvis	\checkmark		
Rep. Smith			Not Voting
Rep. Wooten			Not Present

Adjournment

I. There being no further business, the meeting is adjourned.